To promote environmental stewardship through recreation and education in a natural resources-based park system.

children walking in a field

Three Rivers Park District is a park system in the west suburban Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area of Minnesota. We manage almost 27,000 acres of park reserves, regional parks, regional trails, and special-use facilities. The name "Three Rivers" comes from our parks' geography, situated within the watersheds that flow into three significant rivers to this region: the Mississippi, the Minnesota and the Crow.

With facilities for every season, including picnicking, swimming, play areas, boating, fishing, downhill skiing, snowboarding, golfing, camping and sledding, Three Rivers Parks is the place for recreation, play and relaxation. We have developed an extensive trail system for hiking, biking, in-line skating, horseback riding, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. We also offer program sites for nature, recreation, historic and farm education. The Park District serves more than 14.3 million visitors annually.

Minnesota State Legislature established Three Rivers Park District as an independent, special park district in 1957. Our charge is to acquire, develop and maintain large park reserves and regional parks and trails for the citizens of suburban Hennepin County, the metro area and the State.

We work cooperatively with the Metropolitan Parks and Open Space Commission, Metropolitan Council and State Legislature as one of ten implementing agencies of the Metropolitan Regional Park System. This system of parks was established in 1974 by the Minnesota State Legislature to provide outdoor education, recreational facilities, services and programs. Collectively, the system serves more than 47 million park guests per year in the seven-county metro.

The 2040 System Plan, adopted on July 9, 2020, presents our strategic priorities for the next 20 years, providing guidance for decision making, resource allocation and focus areas.