Three Rivers Board Elects Commissioner Gibbs as Board Chair, Commissioner Dejournett as Vice Chair

January 11, 2023

The Three Rivers Park District Board of Commissioners unanimously elected Commissioner John Gibbs as Board Chair and Commissioner Jennifer DeJournett as Vice Chair at the Board’s first meeting of the year on January 5. 

Earlier on January 5, the five Three Rivers Commissioners elected from districts in suburban Hennepin County were administered the oath of office from The Honorable Judge Jamie Anderson. Marge Beard, of Plymouth, represents District 1 on the Board; DeJournett, of Maple Grove, represents District 2; and Gibbs, of Bloomington, represents District 5. All were re-elected in November 2022.

Joining the Board are Erin Kolb, of Crystal, who represents District 3; and Louise M. Segreto, of Edina, who represents District 4. Kolb and Segreto were elected to the Board in November. Dan Freeman (District 3) and John Gunyou (District 4), both chose not to seek re-election last year.

“I want to thank my fellow Commissioners for entrusting me with this leadership role for the coming year,” Gibbs said. “Three Rivers is truly a world-class park system, and I’m excited to lead the Board this year as we focus on making the parks even more vital to the quality of our region and meaningful in people’s lives.” Gibbs was first elected to the Board in 2010.

“I am honored to have continued to earn the trust and support of the communities of Brooklyn Park, Champlin, Dayton, Maple Grove and Osseo to represent them for another term on the Three Rivers Park Board,” said DeJournett, who was first elected to the Board in 2012.